Page 3 - Viṣṇu Śarmā
P. 3

Viṣṇu Śarmā

                                                                            विष्ण शर्मा

        Compiled in Sanskrit and Pali languages, the

        Pañcatantra comprises five parts (tantras) that cover five

        principles or strategic themes one needs to keep in view

        for intelligent living. They are Mitrabheda (The Loss of

        Friends), Mitrasamprapti (The Winning of Friends),

        Sandhi (Peace & War), Vigraham (Loss of Gains) and

        Apareekshitkarakam (Imprudence or Considered Action).

        Though the exact time-period of the composition of the

        Pañcatantra is still debated, most scholars place it in the

        3rd century BCE.

          Although the original texts of the Pañcatantra

          are long lost, the compilation has survived

          through the numerous commentaries and

          recensions available in different languages,

          most notable of these being the Hitopadesha by

          Narayana Pandit (8                                   th    century), Durgasimha's

          Kannada translation (11                                            th    century),

          Purnabhadra's recension (12                                                    th    century), and

          Franklin Edgerton's reconstruction of the

          Sanskrit text of the original Pañcatantra (1924).
   1   2   3   4   5